Web Stories Thursday, May 23

Peres Jepchirchir took the victory as she broke the women’s only London Marathon record.

The Kenyan, the reigning Olympic champion, clocked a time of 2:16:16 as she powered home down Pall Mall.

The previous world record for the women-only race was held by Mary Jepkosgei Keitany, who put up a time of 2:17.01 back in 2017.

Ethiopia’s Tigst Assefa, the fastest woman in history after her Berlin Marathon win last September, was seven seconds behind Jepchirchir in second place, while the 2021 winner, Joyciline Jepkosgei, finished third.

Brigid Kosgei, the Olympic silver medallist, fell away from the breakaway pack just after halfway through the 42.2km race.

Jepchirchir’s final kick powered her on for her sixth win from her last seven marathons, with her only defeat coming in last year’s London Marathon where Sifan Hassan took victory on her debut in the capital.

“I am feeling grateful,” Jepchirchir told BBC Sport.

“I am so happy for the victory. I was not expecting to run a world record – I knew it might be beat but I did not expect it to be me.”

“I knew the history and the ladies were strong. I was working extra hard. My time was lower but I’ve come good today and set a PB.

“I am so happy to qualify for the Olympics and I feel grateful. I’m happy to be at Paris and my prayer is to be there and run well to defend my title. I know it won’t be easy but I’ll try my best.”

Munyao wins men’s race to seal Kenyan double

Kenya’s Alexander Mutiso Munyao won the men’s race at the London Marathon, beating off strong competition from seasoned veteran Kenenisa Bekele

Munyao crossed the line in 2:04:01, ahead of British duo Emile Cairess and Mahamed Mahamed, who finished in third and fourth place.

Cairess’ time – 2:06:46 – puts him down as the second-fastest British man of all-time in the marathon, and with this result. he is the first to finish on the podium since Sir Mo Farah in 2018.

Cairess and Mahamed are now set to compete in Paris at this summer’s Olympics after finishing ahead of the qualifying time of 2:08:10.

“At 40km I got some pressure from Bekele but I had a lot of confidence because I trained for this race,” Munyao told the BBC.

“After 40km I thought I had enough energy to win. That’s why I kicked and I knew I would win.”

Catherine Debrunner, the Swiss athlete, won the women’s wheelchair event in 1:38:52, while Marcel Hug finished first in the men’s wheelchair in 1:28:33.

Hug won his fifth London Marathon title, with Briton David Weir finished third.

The Olympic Games will return with Paris 2024, live on Eurosport and discovery+.

Read the full article here


Leave A Reply

© 2024 Wuulu. All Rights Reserved.